Thursday, 8 March 2012

CCSP officially retires

Cisco has officially discontinued the Cisco Certified Security Professional (CCSP) certification. 

The CCSP exams are no longer available. If you’re interested in attaining a professional level Cisco Security certification, you should consider the CCNP Security Certification. The CCNP Security cert is for Cisco Network Security Engineers responsible for security in routers, switches, networking device, and appliances.

Tuesday, 6 March 2012

New Course: CompTIA Cloud Essentials

Firebrand launches the CompTIA Cloud Essentials course. We are the first to market this Cloud course, with the exam officially being launched by CompTIA today.

The CompTIA Cloud Essentials certification proves that an individual knows what cloud computing means from a business and technical point of view. The course teaches you how to move their business to the Cloud.

Some of the topics covered in this course are:

Cloud services from a business perspective
  • The business value of Cloud computing
  • Types of Cloud
  • Steps to successful adoption and implementation
  • Impact and changes on IT service management
  • Risks and consequences

What is PRINCE2?

PRINCE2, which stands for Projects IN Controlled Environments, is arguably the world’s most popular project management framework. PRINCE2 was first developed by the Central Computer and Telecommunications Agency (CCTA) now part of the Office of Government Commerce (OGC) in 1989 as a UK Government standard for IT project management.

Although PRINCE2 was originally developed for IT projects, it is now being used on many non-IT projects. The latest version of the method, PRINCE2, is designed to inculcate the requirements of existing users and to enhance the method towards a best practice approach for the management of all forms of projects.

A PRINCE2 project is divided into a number of stages, each forming a distinct unit for management purposes. 

A project is divided into stages based upon:
• The sequence of production of Products/Deliverables;
• The grouping of Products into self-contained sets or associated Processes;
• Natural decision points for review;

PRINCE2 provides a structure of management controls to be applied throughout the project. They ensure:

• The project is set up with clear Terms of Reference
• There are agreed and measurable Objectives
• There is an adequate management structure.

These controls cover all aspects of project activity and allow senior management to evaluate project achievement and status before committing further expenditure.

There are 2 certifications available. The Foundation Level demonstrates a detailed knowledge and understanding of the method and terminology. Practitioner Level proves that you can practically apply this knowledge to projects.

Monday, 5 March 2012

New Course: LPIC3

Firebrand has launched a 6 day LPIC 3 course. Linux LPI 3 (LPIC-3) is a Senior Level Linux Certification. It designed for enterprise-level Linux professionals and is the highest level of Linux certification in the industry. The LPIC-3 exam will test you in authentication, troubleshooting, network integration and capacity planning.

To attend this course, you must have an active LPIC-2 certification to receive LPIC-3 certification. However, you can take the LPIC-2 and LPIC-3 exams in any order.

Friday, 2 March 2012

CompTIA divides its certs into tiers

COMPTIA has reorganised its certifications to a multi-level program. It has now categorised the certifications into 4 Tiers: Mastery, Professional, Speciality and Basic.

• Basic Series: This is the foundation level, which includes courses like Strata IT Fundamentals, which is almost a mini-version of A+.

• Speciality Series: This level covers business and technical knowledge targeting niche markets. Credentials include green IT, Cloud Computing, Healthcare IT and IT Sales.

• Professional Series: These are the credentials which teach you the technical skills and knowledge needed to succeed in specific IT career. This includes all the “plus” certifications, including A+, Network+, Security+, etc.

• Mastery Series: This is the advanced practice of a specific segment – right now, it only includes CASP course.

Thursday, 1 March 2012

CompTIA Exam Vendor Change

From 9 July, 2012, CompTIA exams will be delivered exclusively with Pearson VUE via a network of more than 5,000 testing centres in 165 countries. 

CompTIA certification exams will no longer be available at Prometric testing centers.
This move will provide professionals with one point of contact for all their tests.

May 4, 2012, is the last day to buy a voucher from Prometric, and July 8, 2012, is the last day to test at a Prometric Test Center.

You can take all CompTIA certification exams at a Pearson VUE Authorized Test Center now.