Tuesday, 11 December 2012

What is the CISSP certification?

CISSP stands for Certified Information Systems Security Professional it is offered by the International Information Systems Security Certifications Consortium, or (ISC)2.

During this course you’ll learn the following key areas in security:

·         Access Control
·         Telecommunications and Network Security
·         Information Security governance & Risk management
·         Software development security
·         Cryptography
·         Security architecture & design
·         Operations security
·         Business continuity & disaster recovery
·         Legal, Regulations, Investigations and Compliance
·         Physical (environmental) security

CISSP professionals are in high demand and is one of the key certs employers look for to fill management-level information security positions. CISSP is also popular within the IT security community because it demonstrates that the professional has a strong understanding of security concepts as well as the specific methodologies involved.

But in order to obtain this certification, you must have a minimum of five years of direct full-time security professional work experience in two or more of the ten domains.

Many companies’ IT security positions now require CISSP certification. One key point to note about this certification is that it’s only valid for three years and must be renewed, either by re-taking and passing the CISSP exam, or by reporting at least 120 Continuing Professional Education (CPE) credits in that 3-year time period or since a prior renewal.